2/19/13

For those who don’t know, T has been living in MN since early February when he started his job. While adjusting to life in the great north, he had plenty time to jot down his thoughts, knowing that this blog would be coming as soon as K made the news public. The next series of posts will be from Ts logs while living on his own for the first time in forever and adjusting to a new job, apartment and life without a wife.  Enjoy!  -K

So the kitchenette in my apartment came with a tiny stove that had two working burners and no working oven.  I knew this going in, so K’s dad let me take one of his old toaster ovens up to Minnesota.  I had been brave enough to make a few bagels in it the first week I was here, but after I set off the smoke alarm I was hesitant to use it again.  Well, I got brave out of desperation because I had some mini-pizzas I needed to cook.  So, I plugged it in, made sure I turned the fan above the stove on, and hoped for the best.  15 minutes later, success!  One mini-pizza down, one to go (because you can’t just have one mini-pizza).  It was around this time that my mother-in-law called to see how things were going.  This is when the story starts to become a blur, which is to be expected when you’re eating one mini-pizza, talking to your mother-in-law on the phone, and cooking another mini-pizza.  That’s a lot going on for one human.  After about 10 minutes, I got off the phone and was waiting for the last part of pizza night.  I continued waiting for another 10 minutes for the timer to go off before I decided, “Maybe it’s best if I check on the pizza.”  Turns out, the timer did not go off because the toaster oven was no longer on.  Oh it was plugged in and supposed to be on, but it wasn’t.  No heat…no power…no nothing.  The mini-pizza that was supposed to be cooking was barely de-thawed from residual heat.   I decided that was the end of the toaster oven experiment and that all the pizzas I bought from now on would be of the delivery variety.  In case you’re wondering, I did eat the barely de-thawed mini-pizza.  I was still hungry.  It tasted a lot like if you bought a Jack’s pizza, cooked it with the cardboard, and then ate cheese covered cardboard.

Leave a Reply

