3/10/13

For those who don’t know, T has been living in MN since early February when he started his job. While adjusting to life in the great north, he had plenty time to jot down his thoughts, knowing that this blog would be coming as soon as K made the news public. The next series of posts will be from Ts logs while living on his own for the first time in forever and adjusting to a new job, apartment and life without a wife.  Enjoy!  -K

Have you ever tried to sleep below a herd of confused goats?  I have.  Well, at least that’s what it sounds like more often than not.  My landlady has a few cats (who are both quite nice) that chase each other around nearly every night in some sort of weird game of “Cat & Cat.”  That’s fine…for this rent I can deal with damn near anything.  But I sat down this evening and heard sounds of a different sort around 6pm.  I heard beats.  Like Jay-Z style beats.  My landlady is probably in her mid-60’s.  “That’s interesting,” I thought to myself.  Then I hear the vocals come in, in a way that can only be described as “something resembling Beyonce’s ‘Halo.’”  Turns out it’s not the soothing sounds of Beyonce, but rather someone attempting to replicate Beyonce’s vocals through a karaoke machine.  “Still interesting,” I thought to myself.  Then I proceeded to listen to my landlady’s granddaughter “sing” Halo three times in a row…followed by two rounds of Lady Gaga’s “Poker Face.”  If she’d have been singing show tunes I would’ve thought I’d travelled back in time to my house, circa 1992-2000, when my sister would only stop singing to find another way to annoy the hell out of me.  “This is no longer interesting,” I thought to myself.

Leave a Reply

