I’ve Changed

I knew that becoming a mother would change me.

I spent 10 months watching my body stretch and grow. I toiled away for hours creating the nursery, fretting over having to choose a paint color that would create the perfect home for our little one. I researched car seats and bottles. I cried real tears in the parking lot of Babies R Us when I couldn’t decide what kind of pacifier to get for the baby that wasn’t even born yet. I lived on 2 hour stretches of sleep for the first 2 months of his life. I worried over milk supply. I chose to not leave the house because I preferred to stay in with the baby. I actually used a nose frieda.

But the thing I never saw coming?

Detailed texts about baby bowel movements.

How did my texting standards get lowered so quickly? I’ve gone my whole life without touching that subject in a text message, and bam! Q showed up and my bar swiftly lowered to poop talk in 3 months.

At this rate, I don’t even want to think about what I’ll be texting next year…

Leave a Reply

