Dad Victory? You Tell Me.

Being the first parent to be left alone with your offspring for an extended period of time is kind of like a badge of honor.  If you would have asked me six months ago, I would have guessed it would be K that was wearing that badge.  I would have been wrong.

So fast-forward to now and after going all “Super Dad” for the last 2 1/2 days, I was feeling pretty good.  The little man was alive, the dog was alive, and I was alive, which was all very reassuring.  We made it to and from daycare everyday; we feasted on Chinese food, pizza and breast milk (well, not all of us had pizza); we listened to music, sang, and played the bongo drums; we even wore pants that didn’t match our outfit.

IMG_0582

All in all, a huge success, right?  Well, here’s the the thing.  During our bachelor time, Q only pooped once…the first day.  Now I know what you’re thinking…that seems like a victory…but it is, in fact, a terrifying game of Diaper-Changing Roulette.  Also, one evening, while attempting to get up out of the rocking chair without waking the baby and using only my leg strength, I promptly pulled a muscle in my butt that I didn’t know I had.  There was “the pop” and everything.  Apparently I didn’t activate my glutes before I got up.  Ask Tiger Woods…he knows what I’m talking about.

So is that a victory?  Like I said…you tell me.

 

Leave a Reply

