Stick it to me

Those who know me well know that I haven’t had a great relationship with needles in the past. Getting my blood drawn has been known to take up to 6 sticks in various locations on my arms and hands thanks to ‘deep veins’, knowing that I’m going to be receiving shots at an appointment makes my stomach tie in knots, my heart rate spikes to unheard of levels when waiting in the hospital for a procedure, and I convinced myself that I was going to have a natural birth based solely on the fact that the epidural was a needle INTO YOUR SPINE*. 

Yesterday, I voluntarily had multiple needles stuck into my body. Who have I become??

I had my very first acupuncture treatment for some wrist pain, and man, is that not an interesting feeling. They don’t exactly hurt, but they do create a dull ache where they are inserted. And even stranger, the pain in my left wrist vanished when she put the needles in the same place on my right wrist…what?!?!

*no, I did not have a natural birth because pushing out a baby actually does hurt hella bad. Epidurals make it feel like rainbows and sunshine.  🙂

Leave a Reply

