Glitter on the Wall

jewelry3

I spent the better portion of a weekend or two re-evaluating my current jewelry system. I had a nice, stand-alone jewelry armoire, but it just wasn’t  cutting it in our new home. Our bedrooms are smaller here, so I just don’t have the space for my jewelry to have its own furniture.

Enter my new wall mounted jewelry display. Isn’t it lovely?!?!

jewelry1

jewelry2

It was pretty easy to create, and I love having all my jewelry visible at one time. I feel like I’ll actually wear some of these pieces that I totally forgot I even owned!

To create my jewelry wall:

I bought two 1×6″ boards from Home Depot and had them cut them each into 3 even pieces for me. I spent an afternoon and stained them to my preferred color (using a blend of wood stains that we had around the house from other projects). My dad was visiting a few weeks ago, so I had him mount them to the wall for me using drywall anchors and screws.

From there, I started at the bottom and screwed in all the hooks that are holding my necklaces. I tried to space them out evenly, but I’ll admit, I eyeballed them and didn’t actually measure anything. I made sure that the top row of hooks were in between the hooks below so that necklaces could hang down in between them.

After the necklaces were hung, I used the same hooks for my stretchy and clasp bracelets and got those all hung up. For the cuff bracelets, I went back to home depot and bought a 12″ section of steel pipe, elbows and floor flanges to make a little handle. Once that was mounted to the wood using a few screws in the floor flanges, I hammered in a few nails to hold bangles in the space just above the cuffs. I added some more hooks for my rings to finish out the section.

From there, I measured out the spacing for the screw eyes that are holding all of my fish hook earrings (longer earrings on bottom, smaller on top), leaving a few blank eyes for additions to my jewelry collection. I also used a few long nails and screws to hold watches.

I took a piece of cork and cut it to size for my brooches, using tiny nails in each corner to hold the cork in place. Finally, I created the ‘canvas’ to hold my post earrings. I took a cheap picture frame from Target, removed the glass and backing, wrapped it in fabric and used a staple gun to hold the fabric in place. I needed to have easy access to the back of the ‘canvas’ in order to remove earrings, so I added to loops of ribbon to the top so that I can easily lift up the frame when I want to get a pair of earrings off.

jewelry4

Total project cost: ~$50

Leave a Reply

