Make this food.

Pot on the gas stove

For the last few weeks, I’ve been making an effort to finally make some of the recipes that I’ve been hoarding away on my things-that-sound-delicous-and-I-should-make-this-someday Pinterest board for years. And I’ve been hitting the nail on the head with every single one of them.

We’ve found some great recipes, and I thought I would share with you in case you needed some kitchen inspiration for these long, cold winter days.

Here’s what we’ve tried, how we’ve tweaked them, and our thoughts on each one.

Homemade Alfredo – Total keeper. I didn’t adjust this recipe at all. We’ve used this on pasta and homemade pizza, and we’ve found that it’s extra incredible when you do half alfredo, half vodka sauce on your pasta/pizza.

Vodka Sauce – I made this one according to the recipe, with the exception of tossing the pasta with the sauce. I left the noodles out, but still used the pasta water as directed. Like I said above, this is AMAZING when mixed with the homemade alfredo. This recipe does have a bit of kick, so be ready for that.

Homemade Pizza Dough – Never again will I buy a box of the pre-mixed stuff after making this. I know that homemade is usually better, but the effort required sometimes makes it un-appealing to me. Not this one. This recipe makes enough for 2 batches, so go ahead and make your batch for pizza tonight and drop the extra ball of dough in the freezer for next time. I just use regular, all-purpose flour instead of bread flour. We’ve found that its best to spread out your crust and bake for a few minutes before adding your sauce and toppings, in order to make sure it gets baked all the way through.

Crockpot Honey Sesame Chicken – I’ve never been a huge crockpot user, and I have no idea why. The fact that I don’t have to cook dinner after a long day at work makes life that much easier, so it really is a no-brainer.This was a definite hit, but I did make a few modifications to the recipe as it was written. We used chicken thighs instead of breasts, and I thickened up the sauce a little bit with cornstarch at the end. Just scoop out your chicken before shredding, whisk in a little cornstarch into the sauce, then add your chicken back to the crockpot. Shred and serve.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Enchiladas – awesome for a healthy, meatless meal. Be warned, this recipe made double the enchiladas than what she said it did. We ended up with 2 pans of enchiladas, which was okay to a point. Eventually, we just couldn’t eat any more of these as leftovers. I did end up adding in a couple of diced cherry tomatoes and leftover diced bell pepper into the filling, just because we had them to use up.

Egg Fried Rice – this tastes just like takeout, but its WAY better for you. I cooked my rice in beef broth the night before, and we ended up adding in some cooked chicken. I don’t have a wok, so ended up making this in a large frying pan and it worked just fine. We served with soy sauce, and if I wouldn’t have had the saltiness from the soy sauce I would say that this needed a bit more salt in our opinion.

Now get into those kitchens and spice up your life a bit. Happy eating!

One thought on “Make this food.

  1. […] my last recipe inspiration post was so popular, I thought I’d make it a regular thing. Here’s the new […]

Leave a Reply

