Recipe Recap

So, it’s been forever since I’ve done a recipe recap – sorry internet fans, I know you’ve been holding your breath for this one. And if you’re anything like me, you need a little inspiration to shake up your regular weekly menu.Here’s where I come in.

I spent the last 6 months doing the legwork for you, slaving away in my kitchen and forcing T to eat something other than pizza (wah wah). Along the way, we’ve discovered a handful of recipes to help you mix up your boring weekly routine. Here’s what we’ve tried and loved over the last 6 months or so. Happy cooking!!

Thai Chicken Zucchini Noodles with Spicy Peanut Sauce – This is a super healthy, paleo (sub the peanut butter with another nut butter) and 100% delicious. It doesn’t seem like something so good for you should taste this yummy, but it does and I’m not even mad about it.

Sweet Thai Chili Chicken – This one is simple,budget-friendly, sweet with a hint of spice and fully paleo. We skipped the roasted peppers on the side and served ours with white rice. Make this tonight.

Mexican Street Corn Sweet Potatoes with Creamy Chipotle-Avocado Sauce – This was my first foray into the world of spiralized food and I’m never looking back. We added taco meat to our dish, which made this recipe into a hearty, veggie-packed dinner full of flavor. It’s a bit time consuming, but totally worth it.

Plantain Rice with Spicy Chicken and Mango Avocado Salsa – Here’s another grand slam from the spiralizer world. This one is a lot of work, and takes a ton of time, so plan on making this when you have an open afternoon to prep and cook. The key is to find plantains that are still green because they hold up so much better in the spiralizer. This is another healthy, veggie-loaded dinner with loads of flavor.

Chili Cheese Beef ‘N’ Mac – Comfort food in a bowl. This is reminiscent of Hamburger Helper, but way better since it is made from scratch. Cuddle up with a bowl on a cool night and you won’t regret it.

Creamy One-Pot Pasta – Super easy, super fast not completely terrible for you. It has vegetables, so that means its diet food right?

Jalapeno Creamed Corn – Another one that is a bit of of time investment, but totally worth it. We would add another jalapeño or two, but we like spice around here. This is best served as a side dish, but I won’t judge if you eat an entire bowl of this and call it dinner.

Ban Mhi Bowls – We finally ventured into the world of ‘Buddha Bowls’ with this recipe, and I may never leave. This was so filling, despite being mostly vegetables. The meatballs were a bit salty in my opinion, but T loved them. The best thing about this recipe is how flexible it is, making it super easy to sub out different ingredients to suit your tastebuds. Fair warning, you may be addicted to bowls after trying this one.

Healthy Blueberry Banana Bread – We had a crapload of bananas turning brown after a certain little someone’s Curious George birthday party, so I sought out a healthy banana bread option that I would feel good about feeding to the aforementioned toddler for breakfast. I found this recipe, but made a few adjustments along the way. I subbed out all the oil for applesauce (mixed berry applesauce that I had in my freezer to be exact) and a touch of yogurt. The bread turned out so soft and delicious, I may start adding applesauce and yogurt to every baked good. I doubled the recipe and got 2 loaves, so I popped one in the freezer to save for another time. Homemade goods are never un-appreciated around here.

Leave a Reply

